Synopsis

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18460392-all-the-bright-places

Rating and Review

5/5 Stars!

I never would’ve thought that I would love this book when I read the last few pages.

When there are cases of suicide that I read in the newspaper or web articles, I just ignore it since I’m not the one suffering from it. I never thought in the first place that this novel would hit me through the bones. Jennifer Niven, the author, even shared the worst scenario that had happened to her.

As I’m writing my review about this book, I really thank my family for supporting me though they scold me sometimes for my misbehavior. Sometimes, those people who we call “popular”, “funny”, “strong” or “different” are the ones that’s suffering more than us. We may see them physically fit but they’re empty mentally or even spiritually.

Thinking about suicide is not a joke or cannot even make a joke because it’s a case that can happen to anyone, ANYONE.

I love how the author emphasized the meaning of life.

I just love everything about the book but at first it made me a bit confused why Theodore Finch was saying this and that; well, in the end I happen to understand all of it. He didn’t really know himself; he didn’t know the real Theodore Finch living inside him but one thing’s for sure, no matter what Theodore Finch came out to him, he loved wholeheartedly Violet Markey, the one that accepted him.

I love how Violet Markey was described and portrayed in the book. Before, she was just a little sister that wanted to avoid everything because of “extenuating circumstances” ever since her elder sister, Eleonor, died from a car accident and she survived having minor injuries. I think everyone would never move forward with their lives if one of their closest loved ones died right in front of your eyes (and blame yourself from it) but I think in Violet’s case, it’s not her fault that her sister died, it’s just Eleonor didn’t expect it to happen (of course, none of it was expected to happen). It was so unexpected that Violet met this guy named “Finch” in an unexpected place to the point that it made her life forever changed and she was brought to all the bright places that she’d never been to.

Have you ever felt sometimes that the way you appreciate things were way beyond words? That’s how I felt when I finished reading this. Words filled up my mind but no good word came out good, I just kept on deleting word after word on how to describe this because this book is way beyond words.

I recommend this book to EVERYONE, may you be young or old as long as you can read and understand words; you’ll love this. This is not just a mere novel that once you’re done reading, you just understand what it says and it’s the end but IT’S NOT. This’ll help you to become a better and livelier person than you’ll ever be. This book was not just made to entertain us, readers, but for us to be aware of the people that surround us.

Before I end up this review, I would like to quote something from the All the Bright Places novel:

“If you think something is wrong, speak up.

You are not alone.

It is not your fault.

Help is out there.”

Please, whoever is reading this, someone out there is suffering that we’re not aware of. Let’s help each other.

Originally posted in my blog: 
https://yukirinthepeculiarreader.wordpress.com/2016/10/09/all-the-bright-places-by-jennifer-niven/

Published by Ruz the Peculiar Reader