Book: The Lost Hero
Author: Rick Riordan
Genre: Fantasy, Greek and Roman Mythology, and Young-Adult Novel

Jason has a problem. He doesn’t remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently she’s his girlfriend Piper, his best friend is a kid named Leo, and they’re all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for “bad kids.” What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea—except that everything seems very wrong.

Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he’s in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn’t recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on?

Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What’s troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper’s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all—including Leo—related to a god.

The Lost Hero review:

P.S: Same as before. There may be some spoilers and fangirling going on. Enjoy!

And I thought the Percy Jackson Books were good… After reading the thrilling adventures of Percy Jackson (which, you should probably read before reading The Lost Hero) , I thought I couldn’t get enough of Greek Mythology. And then Roman Mythology came in, and with a new book along with it.

Knowing Rick Riordan and his sarcastic and witty sense of writing, I knew I was going to love the new series of novels called ‘Heroes of Olympus’ (5 books altogether). And I was right. In The Lost Hero, we follow along the story of a boy named Jason who had no memory of his life beforehand, A girl called Piper who has a secret (which we all know isn’t going to be good), and Leo, a boy with abilities like no other, and a mind like no other as well.

Was it good? Absolutely. Do I have favourites? Of course I do. All the characters were amazing. I mean, some might have been a little brutish and demeaning, but they still had the realistic characteristics that all humans have. It didn’t seem unreal, and I loved everyone (maybe not the enemy) but of course, I have to pick a favourite. Leo Valdez is my favourite character in that novel, and the reason for this is simply because he has so many skills, so many secrets, and so much agony and heartache that he should have crumpled a long time ago. But he didn’t. Leo’s courage, the way he proves everyone wrong, the ignorance of all those around him and the skills in which he openly expresses – Well, it makes it hard not to open up your heart to him and let him in. I relate to Leo so much, and that makes me enjoy him even more.

The story of The Lost Hero gripped me in. I heard myself gasping and flickering the pages wildly (like I usually do), and I even creeped out my family by jumping around in my seat and screeching like a baby that is hungry. Of course, I was hungry. If hungry meant starving for words… Most of the time in the novel,  I was wildly picturing and befaddled over what was happening, but I found that I was guessing some of the events that were going to happen in the story. And it occured.

The scene that I loved the most? Well, it would have to be the one in which Leo shows his fellow cabin mates his ability over fire. The manner in which they acted, and the surprise that took them over gave me so much happiness. They finally saw Leo as someone more that what they originally thought of him.

You know what I loved the most about the book? The first line. It was ‘even before he got electrocuted, Jason was having a rotten day.’ Tell me that didn’t crack you up. Because I sure as hell did. Rick Riordan’s writing is amazing and increasingly engaging. I found that I enjoyed The Lost Hero a lot.

But, of course, all good things must have bad. What I disliked about the novel was that the fight scenes weren’t all that miraculous. I mean, come on. They’re demigods, and Jason is one hell of a warrior. It just seemed a bit less outstanding than what I would imagine a fight with demigods would look like.

Overall, I found this novel extremely intruiging and insanely, well, insane. It gripped me in and excited me so much. For readers who enjoy Fantasy, Greek/Roman Mythology, YA novels (especially fantasy), and books like Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, and others, you’ll find that you’ll enjoy this book a lot.

I can’t leave you without a rating, can I? So, i’ll rate this … 

a…

4/5.

Thank you Rick Riordan for your amazing novel.

img_9945

Don’t forget to comment, like and follow!

Tell me, what do you think about this novel. Leave it in the comments!

Published by Estera Lea