How to Delete or Deactivate Your Instagram Account?

How to Delete or Deactivate Instagram Account?

How to Delete or Deactivate Your Instagram Account?

Nov 26, 2020, 6:34:45 AM Business

Instagram users can know where you are and when you were last logged in to this application. Many people don't like this tracking, and they want to get a digital break; therefore, they decide to deactivate their account temporarily. On the flip side, other people don't want to use this application, so they delete their Instagram account. In this post, I will tell you how to delete or deactivate your Instagram account, but before that, you need to understand what these options mean.


Know the Difference between Deactivating and Deleting your Instagram Account

Account deactivation: You disable your Account temporarily, and it's more like getting a week break from your Instagram. Your direct messages, Instagram followers, and other things stay the same. You lost access to those accounts temporarily. Instagram allows you to use this feature once a week and only for one week. 

While you disable your Account, other people can't access your profile. They can't see photos, videos, or any content of you. It's like your profile doesn't exist at all. 

Account Deletion: It's a big step, and one needs to take it very carefully. You lose access to your Account for life if you delete Instagram permanently. You lost all data, comments, followers, and posts. Next time, when you decide to use the same username- you won't get permission for it. 



How to Deactivate Instagram Account on iPhone

  • Go to the Instagram website, login into your Account.
  • Click on the person icon and choose Edit profile.
  • Scroll down and click on "Temporarily disable my account."
  • When you choose this option, you will be asked, "Why are you doing this"
  • Choose a reason, re-enter your password, and your Account will be disabled temporarily for a week. 


How to Download Your Instagram Data

As you will delete your account, you lose all videos and posts you have on your Account. If you want to avoid this, you can first create a backup and then perform a deletion operation. Here is how you will do it.

  • Open Instagram Application
  • Click on the gear icon that will take you to the Settings option.
  • Choose the Privacy and Security tab and then tap on "Request download."
  • Now you need to enter your email address where you want all the Instagram data, enter your password, and wait.
  • Within two days, you will get an email in which you will find a link to your data with a Title, 'Your Instagram Data.' Click 'Download Data
  • You need to follow it to create a backup of that data. 
  • Once the backup is done, you can move to the final step, aka deleting your Instagram account.



In case you plan to delete your Instagram account, then you can back up all the data.


How to delete your Instagram account on iPhone

  • Go to Instagram Website
  • Login to your Account
  • Go to Instagram Delete Account Page-https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/
  • On this page, you need to choose a reason "Why are you deleting this account" select it.
  • Enter your password
  • Tap on Permanently delete my Account
  • Your Account will be deleted, and you will get a message "Your Account has been removed. We are sorry to see you go!"


"Instagram won't let me temporarily disable my account."

Sometimes, you want to disable your Account, but Instagram won't let you do it. One reason is that you are entering the wrong password. During disabling an account, you need to give a password and your account deactivated for a week.

Another reason is that you might be trying to disable your account from your application. If that's the case, you need to use a web browser to deactivate your Instagram.

The third reason is time-scale. It would help if you had to wait for one week to disable your account again. 

If you have disabled your Account temporarily one week before, you need to wait for seven days to try this option again.


"Sorry, you can only disable your account once a week. try again in a few days."


You can disable your Account only for a week, and you can use this feature once a week. Sometimes, you disable your Account, enable it and then again disable it. As seven days haven't passed, therefore, you get a try also error. That means you need to wait for one week and then come again to disable your Account.


"We haven't finished disabling your account yet, Instagram."

When you try to login into your account, you get an error, "We haven't finished disabling your account yet, Instagram." You may get upset when you get this message. This message shows you that you tried to disable your Account. 


However, when you temporarily disable your account, the action doesn't complete quickly. It takes Instagram two hours to one way to process your request. So, when you try to login in during that time, you get this error. You should know that your Account will get deactivated for almost a week. After one week, you can log in to your Account again and reactivate it. Before that, you won't get any access.


"What happens to Instagram direct messages when you temporarily disable your account?"

When you temporarily disable your account, you lose access to your Account and its direct messages. After one week, you can access all those direct messages again; they won't get deleted. It's like taking a break from Instagram. Once you come back, you can reactivate your account and get back to your Account as usual.


Wrap Up

In this post, you get an idea of how to delete and deactivate your Instagram account. You can follow the same steps for your android device. When you deactivate your account, it will be a temporary privacy solution where no one can know about your location and last online status. However, when you delete your Instagram account. You lost all the data while keeping your digital privacy intact but choose this option wisely.


Published by Mark

Written by Mark

Comments

Reply heres...

Login / Sign up for adding comments.